John goes to Conference

I am lucky enough to have been selected as the Angus CLP delegate to the annual Labour Party conference, which this year is being held in Liverpool at the end of the month. This is my first time at attending conference, and I’m looking forward to it, but am also a bit nervous at the responsibility.

My previous experience, like that of many people – even Labour party members – has been from watching conference on television. However, on receiving my conference pack this weekend, I have been overwhelmed by the variety of events, seminars, policy debates, exhibitors and fringe events. There seems to be so much going on, that it must be impossible to attend anything but a small fraction. The Fabians, in particluar seem to have several good events planned.

Do I sit in every session, or do I use the time for devolved subjects such as Health and Education on the Wednesday afternoon to take a break? Do I attend the parliamentary light rail group’s session on improving urban transport, or the fringe event on young people’s mental health? Ed Miliband’s speech is a must, of course.

I can see my week in Liverpool being very, very busy indeed.

This entry was posted in Conference, Ed Milliband, Labour, Light Rail and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

